Idaho Becomes 8th Constitutional Carry State

 

Governor Butch Otter (R) signed SB 1389, which allows for permitless carry into law on Friday, March 25, making Idaho the eighth state with permitless/constitutional carry. Idaho comes right on the heels of West Virginia, whose permitless/constitutional carry law will go into effect on June 5, 2016.

Flag image courtesy of State of Idaho
Flag image courtesy of State of Idaho

SB 1389 will not eliminate Idaho’s current concealed weapon licensing system, for those who want to benefit from reciprocity carry agreements with other states. Idaho law already recognizes an individual’s right to openly carry a firearm without a permit or government-mandated training and does not require handgun training in order to obtain a standard CWL.

Other notable elements of SB 1389 include:

— Exempting law-abiding Idahoans 21 years of age or older from having to obtain a CWL in order to carry a concealed handgun for self-defense within city limits (outside of city limits, the age requirement is only 18).

— Providing a mechanism for well-trained, law-abiding individuals who are 18 years or age or older to obtain a CWL.

This is a major expansion of gun rights in yet another state, and Law Shield is grateful that the state legislature passed this measure. We would like to see more states that believe gun education is more important than gun control legislation!

Click here to read the bill.